After photographing flowers and babies, it was time to turn up the masculine energy. I was elated when my friend Mireya asked me to photograph her husband’s Harley-Davidson Heritage Softail. She plans to surprise him with a large, mounted and framed collage for Christmas. I warned her that I was NOT a professional but she really liked my style. That gave me confidence and I was fired up.

This was a challenging picture shoot because it is more likely this gearhead would let his wife out of his sight before he would his “Baby.” The weather here in Northern Virginia has been unusually warm for this time of year, so he and his wife rode up to our local watering hole: Red Rocks Cafe & Tequila Bar.

In Virginia there is no smoking inside, so he spends most of his time out on the patio… with an eye on Baby. His wife and other friends let me know the moment he went inside. When he came in, I ran outside while others kept him busy inside.

I only had a few minutes. The slight overcast was perfect to avoid those bright, nasty glares which can sometimes happen when photographing chrome. It was in the parking lot and I did my best to avoid having a hooptie, jalopy, or patrons in the background.

I was wearing my black Misfitst-shirt to match the bike’s theme (Willie G.® Skull Collection). Now, I was really fired up.

I couldn’t wait to share these and I am confident he doesn’t read my blog, so here are some of  those pictures:

Reflection of Evil

Reflection of Evil

Harley-Davidson Softail

American Muscle

American Muscle

Ape Hangers with Willie G. Skull

Red Rocks Cafe & Tequila Bar is closer than you think.

The Evil Twins

The Evil Twins

You can see the reflection of ape hangers in the tank.

Evil is watching

Evil is watching

Ape Hangers

Ape Hangers

