Tags

, , , ,

Most New Year’s resolutions are self-serving. There is nothing wrong with wanting to lose weight or reduce your blood pressure; however, I want to do something for others this year. Besides, I think I am as sexy as I will ever be.

Last year, my resolution was to socialize more, which meant I had to break that triangle of work, bar, and home. Thanks to the support of my friends, I did! I immersed myself into photography and writing as well as enjoyed time on the Chesapeake Bay. I visited a winery and a wine festival with friends. I even invited friends to stay with me — which I’ve never had anyone but family stay with me.

Some of my friends are involved, with the charity organization Friends of the Wounded Veterans (FOTWV). I just started getting involved and I am anxious to do more. I think I have found a way to help others by using my passion for photography and writing and my love for history and veterans.

My plan is to compile a large book of photography.  I will then bring the book to charity events and offer them online — people would simply make donations to the FOTWV.

The book will consist of photographs of monuments and sites within Washington D.C. celebrating our history, our leaders, and our heroes. I will research each photograph and provide the details in the book.

This is my challenge! I would love it if you, my blog readers, were involved. I will be posting photographs throughout the year, and I hope you provide me feedback. Together, I think we will assemble an awesome collection of photographs for a great cause.

Here is my first photograph (…and NO, it is not HDR! It’s just the right exposure, a good lens, and an orange filter applied in Silver Efex Pro):

Major Pierre L'Enfant Overlooking D.C.

Major Pierre L'Enfant Overlooking Washington D.C.

On top of a hill in Arlington National Cemetery, Major Pierre L’Enfant overlooks Washington D.C.

Pierre Charles L’Enfant came to America from France to fight in the Revolutionary War. He rose from obscurity to become a trusted city planner for George Washington. L’Enfant designed the city from scratch, envisioning a grand capital of wide avenues, public squares and inspiring buildings in what was then a district of hills, forests, marshes and plantations.

The centerpiece of L’Enfant’s plan was a great “public walk.” Today’s National Mall is a wide, straight strip of grass and trees that stretches for two miles, from Capitol Hill to the Potomac River. Smithsonian museums flank both sides and war memorials are embedded among the famous monuments to Lincoln, Washington and Jefferson.

Read more:  http://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/brief-history-of-lenfant.html#ixzz1jpOIEHg4

