Tags

, , ,

Finally, there has been a lull in work, and I finally have time to write and share some photographs. This morning, however, I really wanted to share something but couldn’t decide on what. Of course, I have lots of ideas rattling around in my brain, but some of the bizarre ones would probably result in losing a few followers.

I was chatting with a fellow blogger this morning and she said, “Whatever it is, it will no doubt be entertaining.” She is an accomplished writer and has always given me great advice. She has a wonderful sense of humor and is a great story-teller. Sometimes she is a bit conservative, but I push her to share her crazier thoughts. Please, check out her blog Iced Tea with Lemon — you won’t regret it.

Entertaining,  I thought. I arrogantly responded to her, “I must give my lady fans what they want — humorous posts riddled with sexual innuendos, as they enjoy their morning coffee and giggle while their husbands awake from a lazy slumber.”

Always one to call bullsh*t, she asked, “Are you sure you KNOW what they want, Sailor Boy?”

I sheepishly answered, “Not any more than any other guy, but since I’ve got a few laughs already, I am sticking with the recipe.”

My friends know me as an habitual creature of habit from the Redundant Office of Redundancy. I fear change. I have some good friends who push me to try to new things, which, in the end, I appreciate. As I said in my last post, I usually carry my camera wherever I go, and a few weeks ago, after leaving Starbucks for my routine morning mocha, I saw a cool car.

I am not a car freak but I do appreciate cars, and my definition of “cool” probably differs from most. When I left Starbucks, I saw a car which I’ve never seen before. I took some pictures of it, but I had to research its identity later that afternoon. I had photographed a mid 1960’s era Sunbeam Alpine Series V. There were 19,122 made, and I’ve never seen one before. This car has a five-bearing 1725 cc engine with twin Zenith-Stromberg semi-downdraught carburetors producing 93 bhp.

I also discovered that the Sunbeam Tiger (a version of the Alpine equipped with a 260 cubic inch Ford V8 engine) was the vehicle of choice for spy Maxwell Smart in the 1960s TV comedy series Get Smart. If you’ve never seen this show, go away, you’re too young, and you irritate me.

Sunbeam Alpine Series V

Sunbeam Alpine Series V

Sunbeam Alpine Series V

