Tags

, , , , ,

Have you ever been bored and spotted a few inanimate objects lying around which looked photogenic? Well, I have. It usually starts out with one thing and then the next few hours are consumed with staging and composition, fiddling with lighting, and scouring bookshelves for trinkets and other stuff to photograph.Β It’s funny how these small, personal things help paint a picture of the photographer’s life.

If you’ve been following my blog, you know that I am color blind and that I love black and white photography. I have shared some of my black and white photographs in A Black and White World and Low Key Black and White. Of course, I have shared black and white photographs in many other posts, but those seem to be the most popular.

In today’s post, I thought I would share some of those personal items I have photographed. Despite being a high-tech world, I prefer some old-school comforts — which some might consider old-fashioned.

IMG_0340-Edit

I love freshly ground coffee brewed in a French press.

 

Untitled

The only way this coffee could get any better is if it had a wee bit of Jameson Irish whiskey.

 

I love the smell of Sandalwood

Shaving with a straight razor takes practice! I love the smell of Sandalwood, and I find it relaxing. Of course, you must have the Playboy shaving brush.

 

IMG_0341-Edit

My favorite colognes.

 

Feather

I think this feather came from a pillow my dog had destroyed. He was upset with me about something -- perhaps, I didn't come home in a timely manner.

 

I've got Time on my side...

I prefer a pocket watch. My grandfather carried one and so does my father. This watch was a gift from my father and I will always treasure it.

 

My Business Card Case

My metal business card carrying case.

 

IMG_6184

I don't smoke cigarettes, but I do collect pipes. I have about 35 in my collection. I smoke MAYBE once a day and this is my favorite tobacco.

 

Untitled

Last Christmas.

 

Untitled

The top to a crystal decanter -- After work, I prefer a little brandy during the winter months next to the fireplace.

