Tags

, , ,

Untitled

When I was in fourth grade, my grandfather gave me this Hawaiian shirt he got on vacation.

Langston Hughes declared, “Life is fine! Fine as wine! Life is fine!” Last Sunday, I had a great time at my baby sister’s house for a barbecue.  Here in the United States, the weekend before Memorial Day is considered the unofficial start of summer.

When I was processing the pictures the next day, I thought about my childhood. Watching my friend’s daughter perform a whimsical dance, and then running over to me see what I had captured with my camera, filled me with joy.

Observing my baby sister, now a grown woman, engaged to be married and hosting a party with so many friends filled me with joy, also. She was glowing with happiness.

In August of 2010, I wrote about my beloved grandfather in my “What Makes a Man… a Man?” post. I remember the excitement of knowing I was going to spend the weekend with him, and the Monday before seemed like an eternity.

Those simple things in life make me smile. As I have gotten older, I have become so wrapped up in schedules, retirement plans, politics, and other “adult” things that I sometimes forget that.

Here are some pictures from last weekend. I hope they make you smile!

Untitled

She was showing me how a birdie flies. After a few shots, she’d run over to me so to see the images on my camera.

Untitled

I love her grin.

Untitled

I am surprised she didn’t become dizzy and fall down while performing her “spin” moves!

Untitled

My baby sister — seems like yesterday.

Untitled

My baby sister.

Untitled

My grandfather and I.

